My Non-Work Time Activities

Last month, on one of our regular visits to a temple, my wife and I met one of her cousins. During our interaction, which mostly concerned our families, we got to know something about each of our job profiles. One of the questions during our conversation was, “What do you do when you are not working Suyog?” That was a good question, because I did not have a proper list of activities that I do when I am not working.

So, not exactly a non-work time bucket list, but here’s what I enjoy doing:

Reading

This is one of the must-haves. You can see me lying down on a couch with a book, especially on the weekends. It is so much relaxing to not be governed by the clock. But, unlike a lot of us who do not like reading from their mobile devices, I like reading from my iPad mini or Windows Phone. It’s so much easier to carry those, especially when I’m travelling.

I’ve not written much on what I read, except for this list of must-read books for technical communicators. I don’t have a typical list, but I could come up with some names that I liked reading the most. I am sure you too have a list of your own. If you don’t, get inspired and make one!

Cooking

Yes! It is one of those activities that I love to do when I am not working. I help my mother and wife in the kitchen. And the best part is that we don’t have a list of favorites. We cook what we feel like at that moment. So, cheese and garlic bread, Indian Chaat, fruit shakes, milk chocolates, snacks, Khao Phat Che (Thai fried rice)… the list is endless.

Food
Photos of some of the delicious dishes. I wish you could taste those!

Playing

I love to play strategy-based games on my iPad mini. When I am not helping my wife in the kitchen, I am accompanying her (at least I think so) by sitting there, playing games on the iPad. It is fun to talk to her, pretend as if I am listening, and still managing to do what I want to do! I bet she’ll laugh when she reads this!

Photography

There are a lot of those “aspiring photographers” who you see are carrying a DSLR, but apparently not knowing how to completely put those to use! Fortunately (or otherwise), I own only a point-and-shoot, compact camera.

I get to use the camera only during monsoon, but I don’t give up on the occasional chances that I get once in a while. I like macro photography, and look forward to the day I get to buy a good-quality DSLR. I know the basics of photography and I think everybody in my family likes to see me cultivate a hobby like that. My current bouquet of photographs is available on Flickr.

Some macro-photography experiments.
Some macro-photography experiments.

Writing (mostly, blogging)

But, that’s not all I do when I am not working. I love to write. And, you’ve seen me write quite often on topics that relate to my profession. I currently am working on a book, and I hope to complete (and publish) it someday. <I have my fingers crossed to that!>

I’m sure that even you do something to spend your non-work time. I would love to see you share something.

5 thoughts on “My Non-Work Time Activities

  1. I admire Suyog for many qualities, but what stands out is his love with writing. In a way, he inspires many people like me to think always about writing. I hope one day I’ll be reading your books as well, Suyog. All the best!

    Like

  2. I admire Suyog for many qualities, but what stands out is his love to writing. In a way, he inspires many people like me to think always about writing. I hope one day I’ll be reading your books as well, Suyog. All the best!

    Like

  3. It is very good to know that Suyog knows how to spend leisure time, thus bringing value addition to his daily routine. I do admire the fact that Suyog cooks well also (envy him), because I am poor when it comes to helping my wife in the kitchen, sometimes it ends with a fight between me and my wife and the learning process continues for me there also. ha, ha, ha…

    Like

    • Thanks, for the appreciation, Sirji! And, although my family claims that I cook good food, I think I am better off with cooking stories! That way, I can keep from doing the “home” work. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.